Interning in London: An exciting experience

Rebecca SilvasBy Rebecca Silvas
Master’s Student in Mass Communication 

This past summer I had the opportunity to intern abroad with the US Department of State at the US Embassy in London. As a graduate student in mass communication with a concentration in global media, I was thrilled to be working in the embassy’s public affairs office. I was able to do valuable work in the section and I learned something new every day. It was particularly exciting to be able to round out my graduate studies with hands-on experience pertinent to my academic concentration.

They say that one of the best reasons to do an internship is to find out more about yourself and what direction you want to take your career. This was absolutely true for me, and I would especially recommend an internship to students that have entered graduate school straight from their undergrad like I did. Not only did I apply my skill set in the real world, but I also made valuable professional connections and gained several career mentors.

The cultural experience of interning abroad was something that I’ll never forget. It was a pleasure to learn from American Foreign Service Officers who have been working in the mass communications field in some capacity throughout their long and impressive careers, as well as British staff that knew how to promote an event like nobody’s business. Some of my British colleagues even asked me to be in a video promoting the embassy’s USA v. UK cricket match. That’s me at the beginning!

I would recommend an internship abroad to other graduate students in a heartbeat. Grad students tend to have a competitive edge over undergraduate students in the application process, and the opportunity to gain hands on experience in the field is valuable whether you plan to continue in academia or enter the job market. So go forth, intern and prosper!

Leave a Reply

